Two Amazing Women You’ll Never Meet (This Side of Heaven)- Grandma Rose and Aunt Judy

My child,

There are many people you will meet in your life that impress you, make you laugh, cry, or fuming mad. There will be a lot of people that come along that challenge and stretch you, educate you, and compliment who you are as a person. Those people are rare… and those are the people that you want to surround yourself with in life. Those are the priceless relationships that you cannot afford to lose and must make early in life. You will meet so many people that give you the perception that they are one of these people, but over time, those people will fade into the sunset. Then there are those truly dynamic people that will not only change your life, but will imprint your heart and soul for eternity. I want to tell you what I know about two of those women… one from mommy’s side and one from daddy’s side.

I met your mommy’s Grandma Rose at Thanksgiving dinner in 2008. I instantly felt a bond with her as she was one of the sweetest people I have ever met. I felt as though she loved me instantly and that in turn made me love her instantly. That night we played card games that night and she was a firery competitor… you don’t mess with Grandma Rose when a competition is going on! What I didn’t realize at that time was that the opportunity to get to know Grandma Rose was rapidly closing… as she had Ovarian Cancer.

Child, what I want you to know and to inherit from your Grandma Rose is her strength. In all my life I have never witnessed someone fight for life Grandma Rose did. The doctor’s told her that her time was running out, but the woman never stopped! She went on with her life as though she would live forever. I remember it like it was yesterday, one of the strongest moments I have ever seen, we were in Grandma Rose’s hospital room when the doctor told her we had come to the end and there was nothing more that could be done. The doctor began to cry and Grandma Rose, just told that she had weeks to live, was comforting the doctor and sharing her faith. That blood runs through your veins my child.

The second woman had a profound impact on my life from infancy until September 2009 and that was my Aunt Judy. I was blessed to have her in my life as another “mom”. When you enjoy one of those fantastic meals your dad cooks… you can give a shout out to Aunt Judy up in heaven 🙂 Aunt Judy was the one person… no matter how mad she got at me… that I knew I could unconditionally count on in life. Her and Uncle Bill took me on vacations, holiday excursions, watched movies with me, read to me and so on. There is a cassette tape floating around somewhere of Aunt Judy singing “Tammy” to me and I was cooing away! Aunt Judy would have died before she missed a big event in my life… be it graduations, birthdays, or bringing me down to Ohio State to start my college life! She was ALWAYS there!

Aunt Judy’s life wasn’t very happy the last 10 years for various reasons, but the one thing you must know about her, was that her love was unconditional and she was devoted to those she loved. In fact it is safe to say that her life was cut short because she put the wants and needs of others before her own. It was said at Aunt Judy’s funeral that she loved two things… 1) yelling at Uncle Bill and 2) being with her family. I would challenge you with a 3rd and 4th…. she had the biggest most giving heart and she loved the Lord. She carried her Bible (that I bought her) every where she went. It would be yours today had she not chosen to be buried with it 🙂 You cannot live your life taking care of everyone around you… everyone you love… without having a heart made of heaven’s gold.

My child, the night I found out about you I had a dream… in that dream God had just formed you and gave you to Grandma Rose and Aunt Judy to take care of until it was time for you to come to mommy and daddy. You were laughing and giggling as they shared funny stories about mommy and daddy with you. They told you funny stories about your Grandma Barbara and Grandpa Kevin… and they shared with you the good news of the amazing families that you would soon enjoy. Aunt Judy gave you some of her best recipes and Grandma Rose taught you how to knit (this is why I think you are a girl). Tears roll down my cheeks every time I think of this story… because part of me is sad that you won’t get to know them… but part of me is happy because I believe God has let them know you.

My child, if you look at the lives of those that came before you, you will find no better examples of love than Grandma Rose and Aunt Judy. They were strong loving women with very different outcomes in life. Both handled obstacles with grace and faith in Jesus. Grandma Rose had tremendous strength and zest for life (as well as many other endearing qualities). Aunt Judy was a pillar of sacrifice and kindness (as well as many other endearing qualities). My child… embrace these qualities as I know you will… and let God use them to bless others!

About jasonafrantz

How do you change the world? That's what I wake up and ask myself every day. Is it through something I say to my boys? To my wife? Something I say or do at work? Who I vote or root for? This blogs shares some simple thoughts on parenting, marriage, leading at work, faith, and the little things we can all do to make the world half full instead of half empty.

Posted on September 1, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Jason, as one father to another, I wanted to tell you that this is a great gift to give your child(ren). God impressed on me in the past two years the need for fathers to leave a legacy for our children that lasts. Most guys want to set their children up financially and to give them a great life. While there is nothing wrong with doing that, I don’t think it will carry the value dads think it will. I think that when we are gone, they will want even more to know what we thought and remember who we were. Leaving journals, blogs, videos etc for them to interact with after we are gone–is going to be what they cherish. I know that will be true for me and my dad! Great job!

Leave a Reply

