Be a Simple Kind of Man (or Woman) :)

Note: If you wish to subscribe to this blog (meaning you will get e-mail updates when I post new blogs) enter your e-mail address over there on the right side of this page!

My Child,

When I write the next blog post to you we will know if you are a growing little boy or a growing little girl. Mom and I still haven’t settled on names for you, so for now I will call you by the names I love… Jack and Grace… so your womb name is going to be Graciejack 🙂

Graciejack,

As I was sitting here tonight thinking and praying about you… again wondering what type of man/woman you will grow to be… and how I can raise you as a humble God-loving/fearing person. A song came into my head by the late great Lynyrd Skynyrd…. it is called “Simple Kind of Man” and the lyrics go like this:

Mama told me, when I was young
Come sit beside me, my only son
And listen closely, to what I say.
And if you do this
It will help you some sunny day.

Ohh take your time… Don’t live too fast,
Troubles will come,
and they will pass.
Go find a woman and you’ll find love,
And don’t forget son,
There is someone up above.

And be a simple kind of man.
And maybe some day you’ll love and understand.
Baby be a simple kind of man.
Won’t you do this for me son,
If you can?

Forget your lust
for the rich man’s gold
All that you need is in your soul,
And you can do this if you try.
All that I want for you my son,
Is to be satisfied.

Boy, don’t you worry… you’ll find
yourself.
Follow you heart and nothing else.
And you can do this if you try.
All I want for you my son,
Is to be satisfied.

Graciejack… I want this song for your life (I have linked the video for your enjoyment)!! There are so many things to take from this song and really apply it to your life! Be a SIMPLE kind of man (or woman… but I am going to say man just to keep it simple… not that I want you to become a man if you are a girl… well baby you know what I mean!!). What does it mean to be simple? Can you drive a Ferrari and be a SIMPLE man? Can you buy the biggest house? Dress in the fanciest clothes? Import your drinking water from the Alps? Probably not. To be SIMPLE is to be thankful for all the many blessings that God gives you… to be humble when called to be… to give when you have little… to love unconditionally… and to forgive always.

“Don’t live too fast… troubles will come and they will pass”… can I hear an AMEN!! 🙂 I can’t say it more simply than troubles died on the Cross at Calvary 2,000 years ago!! The things we encounter in life are mere obstacles. Life is a big picture/little picture type of deal. The big picture is that you move one step closer to Heaven with each breath you take…. and that is a good thing. Little picture is that you will experience a lot of good times and a lot of bad times on earth (more bad times if the government doesn’t get it’s head out of its…..ok). As this song says… THEY WILL PASS. So when you get to that point where you may wonder where your going to find gas money (ask your mom), a guy/girl dumps you, or you get cut from the team… THEY WILL PASS!

“Go find a woman and you’ll find love…”- See your mom… enough said 🙂

“And don’t forget son, there is someone up above”- Lynyrd didn’t mean that mommy or daddy is upstairs watching you (although it may be true). There IS a big omnipresent someone up above. God is like an indestructable roof over your head. He will always be there… even when you don’t think He is or don’t want Him to be. He will never leave your side. You don’t have to walk through any doors or climb through any windows to be under his protection…. you simply ask to be let in and he welcomes you with loving and open arms.

“Forget your lust for the rich man’s gold… all that you need is inside your soul”… AMEN! Listen…. I am not EVER going to sugar coat life to you. I guarantee that you WILL meet more than your share of people that you want to punch in the face. There is always going to be someone prettier (handsome) in society’s eyes… faster…. better athelete…. smarter…. have more money…. and have nicer things… that is life! I can sit here right now and HONESTLY tell you that my heart is content with all the things the Lord has blessed me with and all the things your mom has forbid me to have (Siberian Husky, motorcycle, hippopontamus, etc).  Do I have selfish wants… of COURSE! Anyone that tells you they don’t have selfish wants is selfishly lying 🙂 The difference between having those wants and being content with what you have been blessed with is simple…. what consumes you? Peace or possessions? Hord peace, forgiveness, and love… gather as much of it as you can. Anything you can take to Heaven is worthy of gathering…. but I can promise you Graciejack…. you aren’t flying your own private jet to heaven… there are no parking lots or airports there.

Remember… be a SIMPLE kind of person (hmm that works) someone that will love and understand.

About jasonafrantz

How do you change the world? That's what I wake up and ask myself every day. Is it through something I say to my boys? To my wife? Something I say or do at work? Who I vote or root for? This blogs shares some simple thoughts on parenting, marriage, leading at work, faith, and the little things we can all do to make the world half full instead of half empty.

Posted on September 15, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

